Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Christmas?

What has happened to Christmas? It has become so commercialized. Atheists are even starting to celebrate this (what use to be a) religious holiday. They have casually put an "X" in front of this holiday (removing the Christ), thus altering the basis of Christmas. Christmas is originally suppose to be a time during the year to worship and celebrate the birth of the infant Jesus. It is a time for Christians to remember the roots of their religion. When Jesus was born in order to create the gateway to heaven. Well, that is what I believe. Other things associated with this holiday are getting together with family and having a good Christmas meal. I am okay with everyone doing this. I mean, all families, regardless of religion, need a time to get together. Especially, with these tough American times.

What angers me the most, is the fact that a lot of people are obsessed with the "receiving" part of Christmas. The giving part is good. It allows people to show that they care for the other human being. If the gift is something that the other person wanted or needed, that only shows that the giver cares even more about the person who got the gift because they pay attention to the other person's needs. Nowadays, some people just give more gifts in order to receive more. I almost forgot about the children. Oh, the children. They whine and whine all for a single gift. All that they know to say is "GIMME, GIMME, GIMME!!!" Their young, so they do not know any better. I know this, because I use to be one. But, in due time, they will forget about the universe circling around them. Unfortunately, I do not know what to ask Santa Claus for this year. I am not really sure if it is because I don't deserve one, or if I am content with my life and what materials I have. This is the possible reason for why I am questioning Christmas. I think it is because I want something that cannot be given in a gift wrapped box. Maybe, I want happiness, because at this moment is when I will need it most.

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

PARTAY!!! (Yes, I know that I misspelled it)

This previous weekend, my friend had a really fun birthday party. The whole day was dedicated to just relaxing and doing whatever we could to stay entertained in a stress free environment. Instead of talking about the bad things that happened, I will just talk about everything good. The good things that happened made my weekend worth it. I am going to start out the day before the party. I didn't get to make the cake batter and bake it, but I got to prepare it by choosing and putting on the frosting. I am a unique person that has a very strange taste in food. It was a good thing that the birthday boy had a unique taste in food too, so he wanted his cake to be a surprise. Because the cake was already baked (it was the yellow batter kind), I had to make the frosting stand out the most. I decided to go with mixed peanut butter and jelly, and nutella (a hazelnut and chocolate mixed spread). Too my amazement, everybody loved the two cakes.

Other than the great food, the activities were what also made that day great. As I said before, I will not talk about the worst events of the day, such as the tennis court incidents, and our first game of "Sandman." The highlights of the day were the tournament of the games of skate (a game of horse played by using skateboards), and the games of "Sandman" that we had played at night on the play structure (after all of the little kids that unfortunately can get injured from us older children had all left). In the tournament, I actually wanted to win for once. I usually never take them seriously, but this time I wanted to prove myself. I beat my brother in the first round. It was an intense game. I cheeped out on a semi-easy trick and won. The next round was a three-way final. It was me against the birthday boy and a cool other guy that we had just met in a free-for all match. I was the first one to go, but I was able to give the two of them a letter each. In the end, the birthday boy had won. To end my day, we played sandman until my mom arrived to give my brother and I a ride home.

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Thanksgiving Break

Well, for me, I wouldn't really have considered it a break. Just like all of my other "breaks," i did not get to do that many activities that I wanted to. Usually, my parents take control of whatever I do over my breaks. But, this time, I was given one of the six days (I included Tuesday after school and totaled my half days of freedom as one) to do what I wanted to. As always, I just wanted to hang out with friends. This period of time that I got to enjoy was about equivalent to a weekend. The rest was mainly family time.

Family time wasn't all that bad. I got to be with my cousins (some of them are about my age) for majority of the break. We watched television, rented movies, played a few video games, went on youtube to watch many hilarious videos, and helped a bit in preparing the Thanksgiving feast. Unfortunately, I didn't eat that much turkey. This happened probably because I ate a bit too much of the home-made lumpia (I think this is how you spell it, by the way, they are the Filipino egg rolls) appetizers with the delicious sweet, spicy, and sour sauce. My mother and my aunt had prepared two turkeys this year. One was oven roasted, the other was barbecued. Both tasted great, but the barbecue turkey was a little dry.

My cousin didn't have any turkey because of his big football game the next day. His team made the playoffs, even though the team was just started last year. Unfortunately, his team has much to learn, because they lost by a lot. My uncle knew that the other team was going to do well, because he saw the other team's coach at my cousin's team's practice (possibly spying). In a few years, my cousin's team will probably get better.