At school I am usually stereotyped as the "good grade" child. I guess that this is true. People normally tend to get surprised when they find out that I skateboard. Probably because they never see me carrying a board to school. And, it may have to do with the fact that I use to think that I sucked (terribly) at skating. But now, I do not have much of a problem with what other people think about me skateboarding. I have some really good skateboarding friends at school (maybe even some of the best at the school) and they tell me that I am actually a pretty good skater. That gave me a confidence boost and makes me realize why I do it anyways. Its because I love it so much. Some people just do not understand why these "kids" and adults throw away their future to "push a piece of wood." It just brings so much bliss to us who enjoy it. I am not saying that I am trying to get a future in the skateboarding industry (although some of my friends have a fighting chance at getting sponsored), but I skate because it is an activity that relieves me of all my stress and allows me to have wit my friends.
Just this past Friday I landed so many tricks that I thought were extremely difficult and I may never have a chance at landing. Other than that, I really liked just being around my brother and his friends because of all their positive attitudes. His friends are getting close, if not have reached, the skill level my brother and I are at. They (including my brother) are all two grades bellow me. Just seeing them doing some of their tricks makes me wish that I had began as early as they did. I started learning how to do tricks in the eighth grade (but knew how to ride a board before that). They probably started around seventh grade. The tricks that the majority have now are some I did not get for a year. Others have tricks that I may never land. But, thats another reason that I love skateboarding. Everyone has their own "bag" of tricks and individual style. It is just purely fascinating.
Well, back to last Friday. I landed some serious tricks and I landed some silly tricks that I simply put together that suited the surrounding. We went to a local public park that had a little wave/wedge good for skating. My brother told me that one of his friends just learned a few tricks last weekend that I wanted to land involving that concrete wave. I had been working on them before (not seriously) but always ended up falling because I lacked the ability of shifting my weight to the slope of the wave. Strangely, the trick that I had been going for (for all you fellow skaters out there it was a rock fakie) I landed it on my first attempt. Then on all tries after that I landed it. I was so happy. That I decided to go for other stuff too. I went to the waxed ledge to the side of the wave (the people at the park don't get mad at us for using it because it is not a part of any of the nearby buildings). By just fooling around I landed two frontside feeble grinds. And this is only one week after learning how to grind. Hopefully, I can continue my passion for recreational skateboarding (I don't have a big dream of getting sponsored and going professional) and get better over time. Well, at least for a few more years. Before my parents tell me to grow up and get a job. So, I will enjoy whatever is left of my youth while I can.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment