Wow. This week went by pretty easy. I guess that I would have to thank the state of California for that. This high school exit exam was quite easy, but took a ridiculously long amount of time to do. I would say that it was worth it. I ended up receiving a bit less of the average amount of homework that I normally have. Some of the homework that I also received was easier too. When I finished certain parts of the exit exam I was able to complete some of my homework so I could get ahead and have less to worry about in the long run. Unfortunately, by doing this, I have more reading to catch-up on. I will just have to worry about that over the weekend.
This exit exam was a "joke." Learning about it in English class two weeks prior to the exam somewhat frightened me. The statistics of it seemed so scary. The fact that this one test was preventing about twenty percent of California's student population from obtaining their high school diploma made me fear for the worst. It kind of made me a bit angry too because the test does not really have a purpose to it. Colleges do not even care about what score a student obtains from said exam. At that moment I felt that it was just one more thing that the government was throwing at us to make us students suffer.
While testing, my whole mind-set had changed. The questions from both halves of the exam were so easy. From the English part, it just was about basic literature and grammar skills that learn in the sixth grade. Hell, I wish that I could have taken that test in the sixth grade just to get it over with. This part made people read prompts and answer questions about the prompt. Some of my friends said they did not even have to read the prompts the majority of the time because hardly any of the questions asked for information from the prompt. The practice questions were way more difficult to answer than the real test. Even the essay portion of the exam was quite simple to complete. It only took me approximately twenty minutes to complete that part.
The math section was not so hard either. It was basic seventh and sixth grade math. I am pretty sure that I got close to, if not all, the questions right. But, from the learning that I obtained in English class, I feel kind of sorry for the people that had failed the test. I think that it could have been the school that they went to in these tough times. If education cannot fund for schools, then where are they getting the money to test us? They should be spenging money on helping the students rather than evaluating and preventing them from succeeding. I forgot who is doing this (I am pretty sure it was the government), then I hope that they do something to change their ways before it is too late.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment